Being attacked in my sleep.

Urk! So I have sleep apnoea.  These days most people knows what that means, but in case you don’t it basically when you stop breathing for short periods as you sleep.  I don’t suffer from it badly, usually I never know that it’s happen and I’ll just be a little more tired during the next day.  That and I know that I snore very loudly, which is a side effect.  In fact the biggest risk is if I’m ever in a relationship that last any length of time, that whoever I’m sharing a bed with will decide that my stopping breathing is a acceptable price to pay for a good nights sleep.  Truly, I have been warned about it in the past.

One of the worse attacks I had was while I was suffering from a cold.  I woke up from a dream that I was drowning and I was really desperately gasping for air.  Last night I beat that with my worse attack ever.

Again interestingly, it affected my dreams.  I dreamt I was in a duel, old fashion pistols, 10-paces-turn-and-fire type thing. In the dream I lost and was shot in the chest, I immediately woke up, struggling for breath and started a 20 minute coughing fit as I tried to get over it.

Needless to say, when you’re a little groggy, you can find this a little traumatising and I didn’t really have a good nights sleep for the rest of the night, very annoying since this happened only around an hour after drifting off.

So now I’m very tired and my throat is still sore from all the coughing I did.  However, I’m always intrigued when I can trace dreams directly back to real life events.  If I could wake up more I could possibly even think clearly about it…

I wonder if it happens often to other people? The real life/dream thing I mean, not the stop breathing thing…

Leave a Reply

