Something that you’ve probably seen. If you haven’t seen it, go see it…

I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I found this the other day.

I posted earlier about earlier how I like comics, it something that goes back a long way to my early childhood.

I remember in around 1983, like all kids my age then, I consumed Garfield. Looking back I’m not sure why, but I got a couple of the books and then like most kids my age, I was over the comic strip by 1984. Since then I’ve never really bothered to read it even if I come across in the papers. I usually take a moment to read most comics and cartoons.

Then I saw this.

Garfield minus Garfield.

I have to say I love it. It takes the cartoons that have the charater ‘John’ in them and removes all traces of Garfield. The result are absurd, disturbing and in my opinion, probably funnier than the originals*.

A couple of my favourites;

http://garfieldminusgarfield.net/post/81692788

http://garfieldminusgarfield.net/post/85509163

http://garfieldminusgarfield.net/post/78803526

But there is loads more. Go, click, explore!

*Re-reading this I think I’m sounding a little harsh on Garfield. Honestly I don’t think the strip is that bad, I just think Garfield is one of the first things that I can remember think ‘Gee, this is being really, really over-marketed.’ When a nine year old thinks that, you know things have gone a step too far.

Also, read a excerpt of Garfield’s creator, Jim Davis, response to Garfield minus Garfield. I must say I respect someone with a marketable product that sounds so relaxed about how other people experimenting with their work

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/04/03/AR2008040303083.html

One of Walsh’s occasional readers is Davis, who heard about the site a few months ago. The cartoonist calls the work “an inspired thing to do” and wishes to thank Walsh for enabling him to see another side of “Garfield.”

“Some of the strips were slappers: ‘Oh, I could have left that out.’ It would have been funnier,” Davis says.

2 thoughts on “Something that you’ve probably seen. If you haven’t seen it, go see it…”

Leave a Reply

