I may, or may not, break the universe….

Ok, so I’ve had an unintentional break from blogging.

If it wasn’t for two things, I’d tell you what I’ve been doing. Those reasons are;

1.    I haven’t done anything that interesting
2.    I’m more focused on next week.

Basically, the company for which I work is having a major software upgrade and I have to do some training for it. The problem is next week, I have to do a 5 day ‘generic’ training session for my department, which covers all the different roles in my department.

The problem is, as I’ve mentioned before, I work in a support role for my department, and actually all the work I do is the same as a completely different department.

So I’ve got to do training for something that is completely irrelevant and I will never use it. I tried to get out of it, but management has decided that it would be good if everyone know what everyone else does. Oh, did I mention that in this training, the work that I do isn’t mentioned once? So I can only believe other people knowing what I do would be ‘bad.’ [~Actually, I’m not entirely unsympathetic to that viewpoint.]

Even better, the following week I have the training for, y’know, the job I actually do. It’s two days shorter than this generic irrelevant one.

I have grave fears that I will actually be bored to death.

Today I’ve been telling anyone that’s asked me for help that I’ll only provide it if they build me a time machine so I can skip next week. Although I’m getting discouraged by the lack of progress.

Btw, I’ve been told if I miss even just half a day, I have to repeat the whole 5 days again. So the plan is to use the time machine to travel travel past next week to turn up in a time period after I’ve died from extreme exposure to boredom and continue my life.

I don’t know if that is going to create one of those paradoxes that will destroy the universe, but I’m willing to risk it.

P.S. On an unrelated note; Safety in Art is on tomorrow. I’m gonna be there as I’d advise all creative types to be. The Monday Project is going to be running a theme so I’ll probably be drawing away in a corner somewhere.

Go to it. It will be a great way to spend a Saturday before I break the universe.

6 thoughts on “I may, or may not, break the universe….”

  1. Arrrggghhh… irrelevant training. Although I’m not sure why you’re surprised. Perhaps you’re not.

    Good luck with the time machine. Let me know if you get anywhere with it, I might need to borrow it from time to time.

    Also, In other news, I’m cooking a chicken. What is it with the automatically generated Possibly But Never Actually Related posts?

    See you tomorrow!

  2. It’s either the “related post” algorithim was designed by the person who decided I needed to do this training!

    or

    It’s a reminder to include a stove in the time machine…

  3. Perhaps you designed the algorithm in the future, and used the time machine to go back to the past to give it to someone so that it would remind you on this day that you needed to think about what you would eat on your time travels.

    You must be hungry in the future.

  4. Ah,I don’t see my future self being that smart.

    It’s a good idea, maybe I need to use the time machine to first go back into the past, and kick my past-selfs arse into gear, so I actually study properly.

    That way, maybe I could be building my own time machine instead of relying on my co-workers.

    Really, I’m starting to doubt their commitment to the project…

  5. Hmm… they don’t sound very committed. Perhaps you could just kick their arses into gear now, in the present, and then you’d solve most of your problems.

Leave a Reply

