I’ll never play the violin again…

After lunch I went to go back up to my floor at work. There was a huge crowd in the foyer waiting for the lifts. Every now and then the lifts stuff up and the call button doesn’t work. So the only way to get a lift is to wait for someone to come down to the ground floor.

Actually, this can be kind of confusing. I’m in no hurry to get back to work, but there is something incredibly annoying about standing there watch 4 out of the 5 lifts bounce between to 20th and 24th floor. The 5th one, of course, is out of order…

Fortunately when one lift comes the others follow it in a group. So 2 lifts arrived in foyer and get packed with my fellow semi-comatosed building dwellers, but I could see a third one was on it’s way…

Anyway, the lifts aren’t very patient and the doors close pretty quickly. It’s a common sight to see people to lunge forward as soon as a lift empties out so you can be sure the doors don’t close, cause often when they close they move on instantly and there is no way to stop them cause as I said, the call button doesn’t work.

So it was a little frustrating when the lift arrived and the door opened the current occupants decided to pause and consider their horoscopes before exiting. Then a woman who had positioned herself right in front of the lift, decided what ever she was texting (probably ‘OMG, you won’t believe what my horoscope is telling me today’… With a LOL thrown in for good measure) was worth finishing before she got into the lift. So I quick threw out my arm to keep the doors open, just in time to hit the tip of my finger on one of the doors that had decided everyone had enough of an opportunity to enter and it was time to be on it’s way.

The door managed to bend my finger back, bend the fingernail back further, split the finger nail (only a couple of millimeters) before grudgingly opening again. I spent the whole lift trip nursing my finger, staring daggers at the stupid phone woman and wondering if I could be fired for expressing my opinion, loudly, at what a complete moron she is.

Moral of the story. People are to dumb to be trusted with lifts, phones or horoscopes.

PS. I’ve been incredibly busy at the moment. So I’m not sure how frequent posting will be. But I’ve been sent another picture from my mother, so I’ll try to put that up soon.

PPS. But really guys, I mean I stop posting for a while, quite a while I’ll admit. So you tell me, why is it when I’m not posting I seem to get more visits to this site!!! Are you all trying to tell me something?

3 thoughts on “I’ll never play the violin again…”

  1. Sigh. Lifts are annoying. They’re almost too much of a pain to bother with. Hope your finger’s okay.

    My theory is that your readers visit your site when you’re not posting because they don’t quite believe their reader software when it says you haven’t posted anything, and so visit the actual site just in case.

  2. People trust me more than google reader? Even after they’ve been to this blog?

    I’m more than a little surprised.

  3. It amuses me that you an I both post about elevators. This is what it’s come to Sketchy…writing about elevators.

    I bet she was an Aries.

Leave a Reply

