Life is my inspiration…

I hate myself for that post title already…

But anyway, it was my birthday the other week. I celebrated in my usual way, which was by allowing myself to get a little grumpery and talking disparagingly about younger folk. Y’know, stuff that makes me happy.

But besides that, ASimpleTune has paid for me to do some life drawing classes

Life Drawing

I’m doing them at the Guildford Lane Gallery. The classes for the last two weeks have been small, only around 4-5 people but the trainer has told us the class does sometimes get up to 12 to 15 people.

The classes are tutored (not sure if this the most up to date link, but I can’t find a better one at the moment), so a teacher supports and gives advice as you go. In the two weeks I’ve been there has the classes have followed a format. A series of 30 second to 1 minute poses, follow by around 3 10 minute poses that also explore a certain theme (last week; lines, this week; scale) and finish by a 40 minute (2 x 20 minute) pose. At first I was planning to only do a couple of weeks while I try out the tutored structure, to see how I felt about actually being ‘taught’ in the field of drawing again.

In all honesty, the themed drawings have been my favourite, and I’ve found having a teacher again proving the old lesson, we’re never too old to learn.

Anyway, I’ve got some more pictures, but I’m too lazy to put them up here right now… but they are here at my facebook page.

Leave a Reply

